COVID-19 Update: Ontario State of Emergency Restrictions do not impact essential campus operations Close Button
Home News Release Loyalist College Board Elects Chair and Vice-Chairs

Loyalist College Board Elects Chair and Vice-Chairs

June 09, 2008

Margaret Werkhoven was elected Chair of the Loyalist Board of Governors at the June 5th meeting of the Board. Mrs. Werkhoven will take over from the current Chair, Bob Cottrell, on September 1, 2008. John Williams and Kay Manderville were elected Vice-Chairs for the coming year.

Margaret Werkhoven was appointed to the Board in 2004 and has served as Vice-Chair for the past year. She served as Chair of the Academic Student Affairs and Advocacy Committee during 2005-2007. She retired from the Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board in 1999, after a 35-year career in education as a secondary school teacher, vice-principal and superintendent. She is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario, Honours B.A. (English and Latin). She is past Chair of the Quinte Arts Council and of Youth Habilitation Quinte. Currently she serves as a board member on the South East Local Health Integration Network and as Chair of its Governance Committee. She is also a member of the Provincial Constitution Committee of the Retired Teachers of Ontario and is on the local executive of RTO. Mrs. Werkhoven is a recipient of the Sir MacKenzie Bowell Award for Educator of the Year (1999), and holds honorary membership in the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (1999).

John Williams was appointed to the Board in 2004 and served as Vice-Chair during 2006-07. He owns and operates the Best Western Hotel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott, and the Holiday Inn Express in Belleville.  Mr. Williams is a graduate of Sir Sandford Fleming College, where he earned a Tourism diploma. He has a wide range of community involvement, and was elected Mayor of the City of Quinte West in November 2006. Previously he served as a member of Quinte West City Council from 2000 – 2003. He was a member of the Trenton Memorial Hospital Board of Governors for 12 years and chaired the Board for two years. He was a member of the Albert College Board of Governors for 10 years, and Chair for two years.  Mr. Williams chaired the Belleville General Hospital – “Excellence for Life” Fundraising Campaign which raised $20 million for hospital redevelopment.

Kay Manderville was appointed to the Board in 2004.  She is a retired Associate Professor from the faculty of Medicine, Department of Anatomy, at Queen’s University, where she taught medical students and undergraduates for 27 years. Mrs. Manderville was a councillor for the City of Belleville for 15 years.  During that time she chaired several committees including Planning, Heritage, Social Services, the Parrott Riverfront Trail, Downtown Improvement and cultural exchanges with Lahr Germany and Gunpo Korea. She was the City’s representative on the Ontario Association of Municipalities and served as Vice-President of that organization. Other community involvement includes terms as trustee and Vice-Chair of the Hastings County Public School Board. While Vice-Chair of the Albert College Board of Governors she led the development and construction of the Parrott Junior School.  She has chaired the development of the Riggs Centre for the Quinte Ballet School, and Belleville Heart and Stroke. Mrs. Manderville has been awarded the Queen’s Jubilee medal in recognition of her community service.

Chairs of the Standing Committees of the Board were also elected for the coming year.  Glen LeClair was re-elected as Chair of the Finance, Corporate Services and Governance Committee, and Susan Scarborough was re-elected as Chair of the Academic Student Affairs and Advocacy Committee.

– 30 –

Media Contact:  Dianne Spencer, Executive Director, College Advancement & External Relations, Phone: 613-969-1913, ext. 2235; Fax: 613- 969-7902; or e-mail: