COVID-19 Update: Face Masks Required To Be Worn In Campus Buildings. Fall 2020 Program-Specific Delivery Plans Announced. Close Button
Home Campus News Student Leaders Honoured at Loyalist College

Student Leaders Honoured at Loyalist College

March 17, 2011

Student Leaders Honoured at Loyalist College

When Loyalist students become involved in leadership roles, the learning environment is enriched for them and their peers. Members of the Student Government, committee volunteers, peer tutors — they all make a positive difference by representing and supporting their fellow students. This year 27 students were honoured at the annual Student Leadership Recognition Ceremony through the presentation of the Pollitt Awards. The awards are named in honour of Fred Pollitt, in acknowledgement of the leadership he provides to the student body as Director of Student Life.

“This year’s Student Government has set a very high bar for future councils,” said Fred Pollitt. “They have taken many long-term projects to completion and are leaving a legacy that will be appreciated by students and staff for years to come. Their commitment to sustainability is reflected in initiatives such as providing filtered drinking water with the installation of hydration stations throughout the campus. Their support for the ongoing renovations to the Student Activity Centre has increased traffic into the facility. Their participation on the hiring committees of two senior administrators was a clear indication of the college’s respect for the Student Government’s contributions.”

The recipients of this year’s Pollitt Awards are:

Outstanding Student Government Leaders: Ryan Scott, Lara Couch, Britania Tremblay, Roman Pierce, Amelia Brintnell, April Chamberlain, Rebecca Floris, Jennifer Szumowski, Matt Street and Chris Barnim.

Outstanding Class Leaders: Stephanie Clarke, Roman Pierce, Rosalind Chow, Cindy Wallace, Michelle Newlands, Kelly Gervais, Braun Gheller, Shannon Storey and Vincent Ramsperger.

Outstanding Student Leaders: Garner Millward, Jamie Croft, Christopher Detering, Krista Howson, Graham Kinsman, Dan Vanden Broek, Kaitlyn Barrie, Jake Charette and Matt Turner.

Student Leaders Honoured at Loyalist College 

Roman Pierce is a second-year Business Administration student and a graduate of the Loyalist Accounting program. “I have always found that I gain much more from volunteering than I am ever able to give. My role as the student representative on the college Board of Governors has been an educational one. In November I had the opportunity to participate in the College’s Ontario – Higher Education Summit. After listening to the concerns and issues of representatives from other colleges, I returned feeling proud and fortunate to be a part of the Loyalist community.”

“My involvement with the Student Government has definitely been a positive experience,” said Amelia Brintnell, a third-year Biotechnology student. “By helping students resolve concerns, and acting as a liaison between them and the school’s Dean, my confidence and public-speaking skills have improved immensely. It’s been a wonderful opportunity to meet students from many different programs.”

Ryan Scott, Student Government President and a third-year Child and Youth Worker student, is proud of the council’s accomplishments. “We have an exceptionally dynamic and dedicated group who sincerely want to make a positive difference on behalf of the student body. To have our commitment and efforts recognized at this ceremony made us feel valued and appreciated.”