COVID-19 Update: Ontario State of Emergency Restrictions do not impact essential campus operations Close Button
Home News Release Loyalist College Presents Annual Distinction Awards

Loyalist College Presents Annual Distinction Awards

September 12, 2008

Each year, innovation and excellence are recognized and rewarded through the presentation of the Loyalist College Distinction Awards. Nominated by their peers, these employees have been exemplary in their efforts to not only achieve their own professional goals, but also to inspire other members of the College community to set and achieve the highest standards. The recipients of this year’s awards are: Joe Hotts, Administration; Kari Kramp, Faculty; and the Bancroft Campus Staff Association which includes Support Staff members Michelle Perk, Maureen Kelly, Joan McHale, Marsha Depotier and Wilma Brethour.

Joe Hotts works in Human Resources Services and Organizational Development helping individuals who are retiring or need assistance with short or long-term disabilities. The nomination material described him as, “an advocate for those in the system who need his expertise,” who “goes above and beyond what is required to individualize responses to people’s concerns … and makes difficult issues understandable.” He has gained widespread respect from those he works for and those he works with. Employees feel confident that their best interests are his sincere concern and that his knowledge is shared equally with everyone.

As a professor in the School of Biosciences, Kari Kramp has introduced improvements and new ideas and processes and has followed them through to completion. Her peers describe her as organized and highly motivated. An example of this was her facilitation of a three-day workshop in Supercritical CO2 Extraction. The workshop exceeded enrolment expectations and included a dynamic international mix of academic and commercial participants. In addition to her role as a faculty member, she is in the final stages of completing her Ph.D., and has coached the women’s varsity volleyball team.  She has participated in the University of Ottawa seminar series, and has been a guest speaker at Rotary, and the Eastern Lake Ontario Regional Innovation Network.

“I was extremely pleased when I learned that the Bancroft Campus Staff Association was awarded the Distinction Award for the Support Staff category,” said Tom Malloy, Dean of Skills Training, Access and Continuing Education. “This group of individuals has devoted countless hours to organizing activities that have resulted in the staff becoming a positive and interactive team. Perhaps more importantly, though, is the impact they have had in the community at large through their tireless efforts to raise funds for Relay for Life, Adopt a Child, the Local Toy Drive and Christmas Baskets. This recognition by their peers shows them that their efforts are recognized and valued.” 

The Loyalist Student Government also participated in the awards ceremony and presented the Student Life Awards. These awards acknowledge student appreciation for the outstanding dedication and contributions of Loyalist staff to student life. Dianne Morgan received the Support Staff award and the Faculty awards were presented to Larry Cook and Kathryn deGast-Kennedy, professors in the Centre for Justice Studies.  

– 30 –

Media Contact:  Marilyn Warren, Communications, Loyalist College, (613) 969-1913, ext. 2332